top of page
  • WICR

Meet WICR's Sports Director, Eddie Garrison

"There are just so many opportunities that I have access to at WICR."

What is your role & job title at WICR? My role and job at WICR is the Sports Director. I am in charge of applying for credentials to cover the Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400, Fever, Colts, Pacers, and Indians. I am also responsible for scheduling broadcasters to cover the Greyhounds football, baseball, softball, and basketball. When WICR has to travel on the road for football or basketball, I am in charge of making the travel arrangements for whomever is going to be broadcasting that game.

What does a typical day as Sports Director look like for you? There is no typical day for me as Sports Director. Some days I find myself on the sideline for the Fever, or sitting in my office sending out emails informing people about a broadcasting workshop that is coming up or planning for an event that is happening in the future.

What’s the best part about your job? I think the best part about my job is that there are so many opportunities to get better and promote the station as well as to put my name out in the professional world. The Sports Department starts covering the Indy 500 in May, then the Fever, Colts training Camp, UIndy football, and so on. There is just a limitless amount of opportunities to grow and become a better professional and Sports Reporter.

What is the most challenging part about your job? The most difficult part about my job would have to be trying to get people to cover things that need to be covered. When I first took over as Sports Director in May, I had to start applying for credentials for the Indy 500, find people who were interested in covering the practices and the race, and on top of that I had to find broadcasters to cover the Greyhound Softball Team because they earned a spot in the NCAA Division II tournament. It was a challenge to find people to cover that, but I was able to successfully get those games covered.  

What is your favorite thing about working in radio in general? My favorite aspect about working WICR is that I have access to so many opportunities like being able to cover professional sports, go to Conner Prairie and work a promotional event for the station, visit the Bob and Tom studio and see what all goes into their fantastic morning show, and so much more. There are just so many opportunities that I have access to at WICR.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Presidential poll update

Leticia Vaselli 10/12/2020 Washington (NYTimes) - A new poll says Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden is leading President Trump in two crucial battleground states. The New York Times-Siena Coll

bottom of page