top of page
  • WICR

Meet WICR's General Manager

"Radio is a powerful medium which can communicate with a mass audience, but it is also one of the most intimate forms of media. "

What is your role and job title at WICR? I am WICR’s General Manager.  I am also a faculty member at the University of Indianapolis.  My role is to lead a large and talented staff consisting of veteran broadcasters and college students in operating the station and producing quality radio programming.


What does a typical day as General Manager look like for you?

In more than 30 years of working in broadcasting, I don’t think I have ever experienced what might be called a “typical day”, which is one of the reasons I truly love being a broadcaster.  Every day is different with its own unique opportunities and challenges. As the general manager, I’m responsible for everything that goes on the air, but I produce very little of the content heard by the audience.  My days are full of opportunities to teach, coach, and help others create content and connect with listeners.


What’s the best part about your job? Before coming to the University of Indianapolis, the best part of a career radio was being on the air.  I still absolutely enjoy being behind a microphone, but now my role is to coach college students and help them become successful broadcasting professionals.  As much as I enjoy being on the air, it’s even more enjoyable to watch students grow and have the experiences that I was so fortunate to have as a young broadcaster.   What is the most challenging part about your job? The most challenging part of the job is just staying current when the complexity of the media ecosystem increases daily.  The emergence of new distribution platforms, advances in technology, and changes in the regulatory climate are just a few of the challenges to conquer.  The speed at which these changes are occurring makes it increasingly difficult for media outlets to reach and serve their audiences. What is your favorite thing about working in radio in general? Radio is a powerful medium which can communicate with a mass audience, but it is also one of the most intimate forms of media.   My favorite thing about working in radio is the daily opportunity to interact with and provide value to listeners. Whether it’s letting a person I’ve never met know what’s happening in the community, entertaining someone with new or old music, or putting a smile on the face of a listener who is just having a bad day, radio can make a positive difference in the lives its touches.  I feel very blessed to have the opportunity to work in radio.

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page